The newly restored kitchen has an amazing collection of 150 copper pots and pans. The Veneur museum has 25 rooms dedicated to art, hunting and horses (which the owners are passionate about). Finally, the forest walk with its interactive terminals allow visitors to discover the fauna and flora of our woodlands. A guide booklet is given to children at the entrance, - you can share the fascinating facts it contains with the whole family!
The rocky promontory on which the Château de Montpoupon is built in the Loire Valley was chosen for a settlement by a Germanic clan, the Poppo, at the time of Charlemagne. The etymology of the name is directly related to this clan: Mons Poppo (the hill of the Poppo), became Montpoupon as the language evolved.
The end of the Middle Ages marked the arrival in Montpoupon of a family that was to leave its mark on the region, the lords of Prie and Buzançais. Antoine de Prie and his wife, Madeleine d'Amboise restored the château from the sad state it was in after the Hundred Years War.
Eager to follow the fashion of the time, which was tending towards a certain return to nature, the Marquess of Tristan - then Mayor of Orleans - acquired the property in 1763. The Marquis carried out extensive renovations in the romantic style, bringing back some of the former splendour of the place. His grand plan was interrupted by the French revolution, but despite the wind of anti-aristocratic terror that blew through the land, only the chapel was destroyed.
In the 19th century (1840), the château underwent important modifications. Monsieur de Farville, owner in the 19th century, built the common areas as they exist today.
Finally, in 1857, Jean Baptiste de la Motte Saint Pierre, acquired the property. The family made its contribution at the end of the nineteenth and early twentieth century, bringing back the Renaissance appearance the château has today.
The Count of Louvencourt - their nephew and current owner - has added the magnificent "Museum of the Huntsman," a memoire of the family's history.